Skip to main content


International Artists Residency 2022 - Valerie Asiimwe Amani

Multidisciplinary artist Valerie Asiimwe Amani is awarded the inaugural International Artists Residency at the Linenhall Arts Centre.

The Linenhall Arts Centre is very pleased to announce multidisciplinary artist Valerie Asiimwe Amani as the recipient of this year’s International Artist Residency.

Valerie Asiimwe Amani is a Tanzanian artist and writer working through multidisciplinary explorations of video, text, textile and installation. Her practice interrogates the ways in which body erotics, language, place and the metaphysical are used to situate (or isolate) the self in and out of community. Amani holds an MFA from The Ruskin School of Art, University of Oxford and has exhibited internationally including The GRASSI Museum (Leipzig); Rele Gallery (Lagos) and The Zeitz Museum of Contemporary African Art (Cape Town), with a recent solo performance at South London Gallery (London). She is the recipient of the 2021 Vivien Leigh Prize and was shortlisted for the 2022 Henrike Grohs Award as well as the Dentons Art Prize (2022).

I am so excited to be able to experience the richness of Mayo County through The Linenhall International Artist Residency. Being my first experience in the region, I am really looking forward to delving into cultural histories and myths and connecting with the creative community – truly a great opportunity.
Multidisciplinary artist Valerie Asiimwe Amani

The inaugural International Artist Residency was offered by the Linenhall Arts Centre to artists based anywhere outside of Ireland and had a huge response with over 230 artists applying from all over the world. The residency encompasses a purpose-built studio, accommodation, tailored mentorship, a purpose-built digital suite, an artist fee of €8,000, a materials budget of €2,000 and a travel budget of €650. Amani will begin the International Artist Residency on September 5th 2022 for a period of 8 weeks ending on October 30th 2022.

The applications were assessed by a panel consisting of Bryan Gerard Duffy (artist and Linenhall Board Trustee); Sinéad Keogh (curator and artist); Ann Marie McGing (Arts Officer for Mayo County Council); Maria McKinney (artist and Bolay Residency recipient 2021); John Mulloy (Lecturer at ATU Mayo) and Fiona Neary (Director of Linenhall Arts Centre).

The Linenhall Arts Centre is delighted to announce the awarding of two residencies in 2022. Visual artist Dominic Thorpe has also been announced as the recipient of the annual Bolay Residency.

The Linenhall International Artist Resisdency 2022 and the Bolay Residency 2022 are kindly supported by the Arts Council.

The Linenhall is excited to support both artists in their practice. Hosting residencies is a very important part of our role at The Linenhall Arts Centre. We are excited at the potential for practice exploration and development for Amani and Thorpe.
Interim Director, Fiona Neary