Staff & Board of Directors

The Linenhall currently has a core staff of five. We also have wonderful coffee-shop and cleaning staff, and currently four part-time Arts Facilitators who are employed on a FÁS-funded Community Employment Scheme. No member of Linenhall staff earns in excess of €50,000 per annum.

Meet the Staff

Bernadette Greenan is our Director. An experienced programmer and producer, with a background in literature, Bernadette has a strong passion for the arts and is particularly interested in promoting arts and culture in the West of Ireland. Contact Bernadette

Maura Connolly joined the team in 1990. She has now reached the lofty heights of Administrator, and foolishly insists that she still enjoys working here. Contact Maura:

Orla Henihan 
is our Arts Access Officer. Orla’s background is in music and she is instrumental (geddit!) in developing our arts access programme, encouraging everyone to give it a lash. She’s also responsible for programming RoolaBoola, our amazing children’s Arts Festival. Contact Orla:

Oisín Herraghty is our dynamic Technical Manager. His experience in theatre/stagecraft makes him the ideal addition to our diverse, dedicated and doughty crew. Contact Oisin:

Ian Wieczorek
is our PR Officer. A man of many parts (some of which he claims still work quite well) and a successful visual artist in his own right, he's the one responsible for getting the word out there. Contact Ian:

Our friendly coffee-shop staff are waiting to meet and greet you. The coffee shop is open Monday to Friday from 10.00am – 5.30pm and on Saturday from 11.00am -- 5.30pm.

Nuriyah Nuriyah - or Ria to us - is our cleaner. She ensures that the place is sparkling for our visitors. If you’re here when she’s at work, watch out for her sunny smile.

Our current Community Arts Team, Elsa and Isaac, provide a range of visual arts workshops for children in the area, working mainly with primary schools. Contact our Arts Access Officer, Orla Henihan, on for more information. 

Marie Farrell is the retired founding Director of the Linenhall. 

Linenhall Board

The Linenhall Arts Centre is a Company Limited by Guarantee, governed by a Board of Directors, who volunteer their time and expertise. Membership of the company is currently restricted to current and past board members. A committee is reviewing our membership structure with a view to broadening its base:

Ger Reidy (Chair): Ger has won several national poetry competitions and has been the recipient of a number of bursaries and residencies sponsored by the Arts Council and Mayo County Council. His third collection ‘Before Rain’ was published by Arlen House in December 2014. He works as an engineer with Mayo County Council and lives near Westport. Ger joined the Board in 2012.

Eamon Smith: Eamon is a clinical psychologist, former HSE employee, now in private practice. Eamon teaches on the doctoral programme in clinical psychology in NUIG and is currently completing his doctoral thesis. He is interested in the visual arts and is active in community theatre. Eamon joined the Board in 1994

Peter Duggan: Peter is currently Head of Finance with Mayo County Council. He is the County Manager’s nominee to the Linenhall Board and joined the Board in 2006

Lorraine Gannon: Lorraine Gannon practised as a solicitor in Castlebar for many years. In 2017 she completed the Corporate Governance module of the B.A. In HR Management at GMIT Castlebar. She is a member of the writing group Writing on Tuesday's and the choir Cór Mhaigh Eo. Lorraine joined the Board in 2018

Michael Kilcoyne: Michael  was first elected to Castlebar Town Council in 1999 and served on the Town Council until it’s abolition in 2014. He is an elected  member of  Mayo County Council since 2009. He was an official of the ITGWU since 1979 and  Sectoral Organiser with SIPTU. He is a member of the Advisory Council to the Commission for Taxi Regulation. He is Deputy Chairman of the Consumers’ Association of Ireland  and is a member of the HSE West Forum. He is involved with many voluntary groups in the greater Castlebar area. Michael is the Mayo County Council elected representative nominated to the Board of the Linenhall and joined the Board in 2014.

Alice Maher: Alice is an internationally renowned visual artist who works in a wide range of media. She represented Ireland at the 23rd Sao Paolo Biennale. A mid-career retrospective of her work ‘Becoming’ was held in IMMA in 2012. Her book Reservoir (Dublin: Roads Publishing, 2014) has brought the collection of sketchbooks that she has created over many years to the public's attention for the first time. She is a member of Aosdana and recipient of an Honorary Doctorate in Fine Art from the National University of Ireland. Alice joined the Board in 2010

John Mulloy: John Mulloy is a lecturer in Art History and Critical theory at the Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology. Recent work includes a chapter in Gary Granville (ed), Art Education and Contemporary Culture, (Intellect, London, 2012); Salvation through Art?, a research project examining art education in Portlaoise Prison (2009-12); and City (Re)Searches, exploring cultural rights in Cork, Derry, Kaunas and Rotterdam (2012-14). He is currently developing Stick, Brush & Eye, a workshop for signwriting, hand-lettering and letterpress projects. John joined the board in 2013

Brendan O'Hara: Brendan is a retired Chartered Accountant. He works with a number of voluntary and not-for-profit groups in the area. Brendan joined the Board in 2015.

Linenhall Members

Beverly Flynn

Eoin Garavan

Paul Lennon

Eugene McCormack

Paul Soye